Poem: Forever Loving

Famous Steve
2 min readMay 20, 2024

--

kids we were, when you strolled into my life,
you walked in, my introversion walked out
prints from your boot
staying behind your every step
your scattered hair covering your face
with one glance at you
determined I was to know you
one look at you
determined I was to keep you
but all my determination
only led to frustration
I remember our early days
young, clumsy and full of life
how reluctant you were to make a good impression
and how observant I was
of any male who hung around you
I counted days to see you again
you weren’t mine
but our futures were intertwined
the next time I laid eyes on you
that horrible humid and rainy day,
hurried I launched my hand to shake you
make you see me, remember me
but reluctant you were to respond to me
I walk away, you walk beside me
I sit alone, you stare right at me
from a distance, we both start laughing
I walk back to you,
you turn your back to me
young, clumsy, full of life
you always loved the chase
you’d keep the car keys by you
to make sure
I have to come to you,
that I never leave you
without kissing you
On days when I miss you much,
I think back to our first touch
our early days and our once young love
you gave me a happy life,
that bound us
through youthful challenges
our growing love,
birth us a family
and we all think of you
our aging love,
leaves me here,
knowing soon we will meet again
until then,
look down,
I’ll draw my heart to you.

--

--